Ten rural areas could get fuel duty tax cut

Posted at October 19, 2013 | By : | Categories : News,Rural Business | Comments Off on Ten rural areas could get fuel duty tax cut

The UK has submitted an application to the European Commission (EC) to extend the rural fuel rebate scheme to ten new towns.

Following an assessment of all the evidence, ministers reckon three towns in England and seven in Scotland meet the criteria, and in line with European Union law, the UK now needs to secure approval for the expanded scheme from the EC.

An application for the ten towns and the supporting evidence has been submitted for up to a five pence per litre (ppl) cut in fuel duty for the areas as shown below.

  • Acharacle (Scotland – Lochaber), postcode: PH36
  • Achnasheen (Scotland – Ross & Cromarty), postcode: IV22
  • Appin (Scotland – Argyll and Bute) postcode: PA38
  • Carrbridge (Scotland – Badenoch and Strathspey), postcode: PH23
  • Dalwhinnie (Scotland – Badenoch and Strathspey), postcode: PH19
  • Gairloch (Scotland – Ross & Cromarty), postcode: IV21
  • Hawes (England – North Yorkshire), postcode: DL8 3
  • Kirkby-in-Furness (England – Cumbria), postcode: LA17
  • Lynton (England – Devon), postcode: EX35
  • Strathpeffer (Scotland – Ross & Cromarty), postcode: IV14

A final decision on the areas in the scheme and the price discount is expected from the EC next year.

About Gill