Housing Zone shortlist published

Posted at January 10, 2015 | By : | Categories : News | Comments Off on Housing Zone shortlist published

The Government has announced the areas shortlisted to become the first “Housing Zones” in England.

A shortlist of 29 areas outside London has been published, each of which have bid to become one of 10 Housing Zones, where it will be easier and quicker to build new homes on brownfield land.

The 10 that are finally chosen will have access to cheaper borrowing from the Public Works Loan Board and priority access to planning and technical support from the ATLAS service run by the Homes and Communities Agency.

The shortlisted areas are as follows:

Thurrock Thames-Side Towns (Thurrock council)

Elstree Way Corridor (Hertsmere borough council)

Slyfield Area Regeneration Project (Guildford borough council)

Suffolk Rural Growth Housing Zone (Babergh and Mid-Suffolk councils)

Greater Gainsborough Housing Zone (West Lindsey district council)

Coseley Housing Zone (Dudley Metropolitan borough council)

Bescot Friar Park (Sandwell Metropolitan borough council)

Stoke City Centre Renaissance (Stoke City council)

Derby City Housing Zone (Derby City council)

Gedling Colliery (Gedling borough council)

Harworth, North Nottinghamshire (Bassetlaw district council)

Aire River Growth Corridor (Wakefield Metropolitan district council)

North East Lincolnshire Town Centre Living (North East Lincolnshire council)

York Central Housing Zone (City of York council)

Hoyland and Dearne Valley Housing Zone, Barnsley (Barnsley Metropolitan district council)

Exemplar Neighbourhood (Gateshead council)

Sheffield – Rotherham Don Valley Housing Zone (Sheffield City council)

Preston Housing Zone (Preston City council)

Penine-Lancashire (Blackburn with Darwen borough council)

Wirral Waters – North Bank East (Wirral Metropolitan borough council)

South Bristol HZ (Bristol City council)

Whitehill and Bordon (East Hampshire district council)

Weston Super Mare Town Centre (North Somerset council)

Weston Links/Avoncrest (North Somerset council)

Ashchurch (Tewkesbury borough council)

Hinkley Housing Zone (Sedgemoor district council)

Former Powerstation Site, Poole (borough of Poole council)

Foxhill (Bath and North East Somerset council)

Gloucester City Growth Zone (Gloucester City council)

About Gill